Entry and Visa

You can find information about entry and visa requirements for Austria at the following links:

List of diplomatic missions of Austria (searchable):, or in pdf form:

More info:

Travel visa (Visa C)

If you intend to go to Austria as a tourist, to visit friends or on a business trip for a period not exceeding 90 days and your country does not participate in the Visa Waiver Program, you need a Schengen travel visa (Visa C). This visa is not a work permit.

Please note that in order to apply for a Schengen travel visa at the Austrian Embassy or Consulate, your main destination (e.g. longest duration of stay) must be Austria. In absence of a main destination, Austria must be your first point of entry into the Schengen zone.

ALL visa applicants must apply at the Austrian Embassy or Consulate General in person!

Please note: Non-EU citizens (incl. U.S. citizens) entering Austria under the Visa Waiver Program must have a passport valid for a period of at least 3 months after your last day in Austria or the Schengen states.

Countries exempt from visa

All EU member states and the following countries are exempt from the obligation of obtaining a visa:

  • Liechtenstein
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • St. Christoph and Nevis
  • Switzerland
  • South Korea
  • United States (USA)
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela

  • Andorra
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Japan

Some other countries are also exempt of visa obtaining for short stays (up to 90 days), e.g. Serbia, Montenegro, etc.